About

Our mission is to promote knowledge sharing across watersheds and advance collaborative decision-making, so our waters remain healthy for generations to come

Atlantic DataStream is an open access platform for sharing information on freshwater health. It currently allows users to access, visualize, and download full water quality datasets collected by 23 monitoring groups from Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia.

Collaborators

Support for the incorporation of blockchain technology into DataStream is powered by RBC and rolled out in communities in collaboration with WWF-Canada. This technology improves data security, tracking and transparency on DataStream. This collaboration showcases how blockchain, open data and citizen science can be used to create a culture of evidence-based decision making to ensure freshwater health.

RBC Foundation supports a broad range of community initiatives through donations, sponsorships, community investments and employee volunteer activities. Learn more at www.rbc.com/community-sustainability

Evolution and Growth

DataStream was first piloted in the Mackenzie Basin through a unique collaboration between The Gordon Foundation and the Government of the Northwest Territories, Mackenzie DataStream’s Founding Partner. Today, Mackenzie DataStream is integral to the delivery of the Northwest Territories Water Strategy. The success of DataStream throughout the Mackenzie Basin has allowed this model to be expanded to Atlantic Canada and the Lake Winnipeg Basin.

 

The Gordon Foundation is committed to the long-term success of DataStream. In collaboration with regional monitoring networks, we aim to build and support DataStream hubs across Canada to meet regional needs.

À propos

Notre mission est de promouvoir le partage des connaissances entre les bassins versants et de faire progresser la prise de décisions concertée, afin que nos ressources en eau demeurent saines pour les générations à venir

Atlantic DataStream est une plateforme d'accès libre pour le partage d'information sur la santé en eau douce. Elle permet actuellement aux utilisateurs d’accéder, de visualiser et de télécharger des ensembles complets de données sur la qualité de l'eau, recueillis par 23 groupes de surveillance de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Collaborateurs

Le soutien pour l’intégration de la technologie de la chaîne de blocs dans DataStream est assuré par RBC et déployé dans les collectivités en collaboration avec Le Fonds mondial pour la nature Canada.  Cette technologie améliore la sécurité, le suivi et la transparence des données sur DataStream.  Cette collaboration montre comment une chaîne de blocs, des données ouvertes et la science citoyenne peuvent être utilisées pour créer une culture de prise de décision fondée sur des données probantes afin d’assurer la santé en eau douce.

La Fondation RBC appuie une vaste gamme d’initiatives communautaires au moyen de dons, de commandites, d’investissements communautaires et d’activités bénévoles des employés. Apprenez-en plus à www.rbc.com/community-sustainability

Évolution et expansion

DataStream a d'abord été mis à l'essai dans le bassin Mackenzie grâce à une collaboration unique entre la Fondation Gordon et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le partenaire fondateur de Mackenzie DataStream. Aujourd’hui, Mackenzie DataStream fait partie intégrante de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de l’eau des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le succès de DataStream dans l'ensemble du bassin Mackenzie a permis de propager ce modèle au Canada atlantique et dans le bassin du lac Winnipeg.

La Fondation Gordon s'engage à assurer le succès à long terme de DataStream. En collaboration avec les réseaux de surveillance régionaux, nous visons à construire et à soutenir des centres DataStream partout au Canada pour répondre aux besoins régionaux