DataStream
Data Policy

The long-term success of DataStream depends on the development of appropriate policies and practices for the management of data. These policies and practices must be informed by national and international best practices and—with the help of local leaders and subject matter experts—adapted for the local and regional context.

Background

The Data Policy for DataStream is in line with national and international best practices in data management. Specifically, this policy draws upon identified principles laid out by organizations including (but not limited) to the following:

  • Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • Polar Knowledge Canada (formerly the Canadian High Arctic Research Station)
  • International Arctic Science Committee
  • Convention on Biodiversity (Article 8)
  • Canadian Tri-council policy on research
  • First Nations Principles of OCAP®

Use of this Policy

This Data Policy will inform governance of DataStream and the approach to managing the data contained within it. This Data Policy does not/will not override existing, applicable data sharing agreements.

Data Ownership and Licensing

Data Contributors maintain complete ownership of their data and make it openly accessible through an open data license (see DataStream Terms of Use for more information).

Principles

The principles outlined below set the foundational values and concepts for how data is managed and will guide the governance and operation of DataStream as it evolves. The following four principles are proposed as key components for DataStream's Data Policy:

  1. Ethically open access
  2. Data quality
  3. Interoperability
  4. Security and sustainability

1. Ethically Open Access

Data are made available on an equal basis, fully, freely and openly in a timely way. Exemptions to this open data policy are allowable for ethical reasons.

Making data broadly available without restriction (open access) is a growing movement worldwide. It is particularly relevant for data collected in the public interest, using public funds. Open access involves minimizing or eliminating barriers to data access (e.g. the use of restrictive licensing or proprietary formats or high cost tools).

The aim of DataStream is to open up access to the data contained within it as much as possible. Since the site contains public data that is not of a sensitive nature, this information will be shared in an unrestricted way.

Any exemptions from the open sharing of data (other than ethical exemptions described below) must be justified and requested in a dataset-specific Data Management Plan.

2. Quality

Strive for completeness and the absence of errors in datasets. Datasets are accompanied by standard documentation.

Efforts are needed to ensure datasets are complete and quality controlled so that data are reliable and can confidently be used to better understand freshwater quality in Canada.

Quality standards for datasets should be explicitly stated to avoid confusion. Where limitations to data quality against a particular standard exist, these limits are clearly articulated in accompanying documentation.

Data should be linked with related datasets if any exist in order to show relationships among initiatives and datasets. This enhances the utility of research products and contributes to quality assurance.

Metadata (data that serves to provide context or additional information about other data) that accompany datasets should adhere to existing standards for cataloguing data and evaluating fitness for use in a particular application. This contributes to quality assurance, encourages appropriate use of datasets and helps ensure data are discoverable. As such, metadata accompanying datasets should contain key information required for evaluating, understanding and finding datasets including:

  • full information on the entity responsible for collecting and stewarding data;
  • information on data quality including limitations to allow users to determine fitness for use/how the data can be used;
  • where possible a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) so that data can be easily tracked and referenced;
  • data descriptors to ensure data are discoverable;
  • reference to data collection protocols, instruments or any other relevant information needed to replicate data collection

3. Interoperability

Strive for technological and semantic interoperability with other initiatives.

The international data ecosystem is dependent upon the cooperative flow of data across data centres. The movement towards widespread cooperation and exchange has the potential to support addressing complex and large-scale scientific problems.

A prerequisite for such cooperation is ‘interoperability’. Interoperability allows diverse systems and entities to work together (inter-operate) towards shared objectives (Pulsifer, 2013). As this definition implies, interoperability has both technological and human elements. From a technological standpoint, interoperability involves, among other things, releasing data in open, machine readable formats and the use of commonly owned, professional and non-proprietary standards. The human and organizational side of interoperability requires consistent communication among participants and engagement at key decision-making junctures to inform the evolution of the system.

Sustaining interoperability requires a high level of flexibility to adapt with the rapid and often unpredictable changes in information technology, the characteristics of various research approaches and the cultural diversity across Canada.

DataStream was designed to be as open and compatible as possible with the majority of today’s web technology. As the system evolves, efforts will be made to maintain and, where possible, further the system’s interoperability with existing and emerging web technologies. This will position DataStream to realize the benefits of cooperation with other programs and systems within the broader international data ecosystem.

4. Security and Sustainability

The integrity and security of the data must be safeguarded against corruption and loss to ensure fitness for use over the short and long-term.

Planning over a long-term horizon ensures initial investments in data collection and management have enduring impacts and contribute to baseline datasets.

Data security strategies will be clearly articulated and include a description of the division of responsibility among parties to ensure accountability in data stewardship. Long-term sustainability and preservation of data will be achieved through the development and implementation of a systematic data preservation plan.

Future Work

Partners involved in the development of DataStream are committed to contributing to the development of a long-lived tool which will promote collaboration among various monitoring efforts and foster a regionally networked approach to water stewardship.

DataStream launched for the Mackenzie Basin in 2016 after a pilot year. As DataStream expands to new regions, all partners are committed to continuously improving DataStream to meet its growing community's needs.

References

DataStream
Politique des données

Le succès à long terme de DataStream repose sur l’élaboration de politiques et de pratiques appropriées pour la gestion des données. Ces politiques et pratiques doivent s’inspirer des meilleures pratiques nationales et internationales et être adaptées au contexte local et régional, avec l’aide des leaders locaux et des experts en la matière.

Contexte

La politique des données de DataStream est conforme aux meilleures pratiques nationales et internationales en matière de gestion des données. Plus précisément, cette politique s’appuie sur les principes énoncés par des organisations, notamment (mais sans s’y limiter) :

  • Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)
  • Savoir polaire Canada (anciennement la Station canadienne de recherche dans l’Extrême-Arctique)
  • Comité international des sciences de l'Arctique
  • Convention sur la diversité biologique (article 8)
  • Politique canadienne des trois conseils sur la recherche
  • Principes PCAP® des Premières Nations

Utilisation de la présente politique

Cette politique sur les données éclairera la gouvernance de DataStream et l’approche concernant la gestion des données qu’il contient. *Cette politique sur les données ne remplacera pas, les accords de partage de données existants et applicables.

Propriété des données et licences

Les fournisseurs de données gardent la propriété complète de leurs données et les rendent librement accessibles par le biais d’unelicence de données ouvertes (Voir les Conditions d’utilisation de DataStream pour plus de renseignements).

Principes

Les principes décrits ci-dessous définissent les valeurs et les concepts fondamentaux de la gestion des données et guideront la gouvernance et l’exploitation de DataStream au fur et à mesure de son évolution. Les quatre principes suivants sont proposés comme éléments clés de la politique de DataStream en matière de données :

  1. Accès ouvert sur le plan éthique
  2. Qualité des données
  3. Interopérabilité
  4. Sécurité et viabilité

1. Accès ouvert sur le plan éthique

Les données sont mises à disposition équitablement, entièrement, librement et ouvertement, dans des délais raisonnables. Les exceptions à cette politique de données ouvertes sont permises pour des raisons éthiques.

Faire en sorte que les données soient largement disponibles sans restriction (accès ouvert) est un mouvement grandissant partout dans le monde. Cela est particulièrement pertinent pour les données recueillies dans l’intérêt public, à l’aide de fonds publics. Le libre accès signifie minimiser ou éliminer les obstacles à l’accès aux données (p. ex. l’utilisation de licences restrictives, de formats propriétaires ou d’outils coûteux).

L’objectif de DataStream est d’ouvrir autant que possible l’accès aux données qu’il contient. Étant donné que le site contient des données publiques qui ne sont pas de nature sensible, ces informations seront partagées sans restriction.

Toute exemption au partage ouvert des données (autre que les exemptions éthiques décrites ci-dessous) doit être justifiée et demandée dans un plan de gestion des données spécifique à un ensemble de données.

2. Qualité

S’efforcer d’assurer l’exhaustivité et l’absence d’erreurs dans les ensembles de données. Les ensembles de données sont accompagnés d’une documentation normalisée.

Il faut déployer des efforts pour s’assurer que les ensembles de données sont complets et que leur qualité est contrôlée afin que les données soient fiables et puissent être utilisées en toute confiance pour mieux comprendre la qualité des eaux douces au Canada.

Les normes de qualité des ensembles de données devraient être explicitement énoncées pour éviter toute ambiguïté. Lorsque la qualité des données est limitée par rapport à une norme particulière, ces limites sont clairement énoncées dans les documents d’accompagnement.

Les données devraient être reliées à des ensembles de données connexes, le cas échéant, afin de montrer les liens entre les initiatives et les ensembles de données. Cela permet d’accroître l’utilité des produits de la recherche et contribue à l’assurance de la qualité.

Les métadonnées (données qui servent à fournir un contexte ou des renseignements supplémentaires sur d’autres données) qui accompagnent les ensembles de données devraient respecter les normes en vigueur pour cataloguer les données et évaluer leur pertinence en fonction de leur utilisation dans une applications spécifique. Cela contribue à l’assurance de la qualité, encourage l’utilisation appropriée des ensembles de données et permet de s’assurer que les données peuvent être retrouvées. Ainsi, les métadonnées accompagnant les ensembles de données devraient contenir les renseignements clés nécessaires à l’évaluation, à la compréhension et à la recherche des ensembles de données, notamment :

  • des renseignements complets sur l’entité responsable de la collecte et de la gestion des données;
  • l’information sur la qualité des données, y compris les limites pour permettre aux utilisateurs de déterminer si les données sont utilisables et comment elles peuvent être utilisées;
  • dans la mesure du possible, un identificateur d’objet numérique (DOI) pour que les données puissent être facilement suivies et citées en référence;
  • des descripteurs de données pour s’assurer que les données peuvent être retrouvées;
  • une référence aux protocoles de collecte de données, aux instruments ou à toute autre information pertinente nécessaire pour reproduire la collecte de données

3. Interopérabilité

S’efforcer d’assurer l’interopérabilité technologique et sémantique avec d’autres initiatives.

L’écosystème international des données dépend de la circulation coopérative des données entre les centres de données. L’évolution vers une coopération et des échanges étendus peut contribuer à résoudre des problèmes scientifiques complexes et à grande échelle.

Une condition préalable à une telle coopération est l'« interopérabilité ». L’interopérabilité permet à divers systèmes et entités de travailler ensemble (interopérer) vers des objectifs communs (Pulsifer, 2013). Comme l’indique cette définition, l’interopérabilité comporte des éléments à la fois technologiques et humains. D’un point de vue technologique, l’interopérabilité implique, entre autres, la diffusion de données dans des formats ouverts et lisibles par machine et l’utilisation de normes communes, professionnelles et non propriétaires. L’aspect humain et organisationnel de l’interopérabilité exige une communication cohérente entre les participants et un engagement à des moments clés de la prise de décision pour éclairer l’évolution du système.

Le maintien de l’interopérabilité exige une grande souplesse pour s’adapter aux changements rapides et souvent imprévisibles de la technologie de l’information, aux caractéristiques des diverses méthodologies de recherche et à la diversité culturelle partout au Canada.

DataStream a été conçu pour être aussi ouvert et compatible que possible avec la majorité des technologies Web actuelles. Au fur et à mesure de l’évolution du système, on s’efforcera de maintenir et, dans la mesure du possible, d’améliorer l’interopérabilité du système avec les technologies Web existantes et nouvelles. Cela permettra à DataStream de tirer parti des avantages de la coopération avec d’autres programmes et systèmes au sein de l’écosystème international plus large des données.

4. Sécurité et viabilité

L’intégrité et la sécurité des données doivent être protégées contre la corruption et la perte afin de garantir leur aptitude à être utilisées à court et à long terme.

La planification à long terme garantit que les investissements initiaux dans la collecte et la gestion des données ont des répercussions durables et contribuent aux ensembles de données de référence.

Les stratégies de sécurité des données seront clairement articulées et comprendront une description de la répartition des responsabilités entre les parties afin d’assurer la responsabilisation en matière de gérance des données. La durabilité et la préservation à long terme des données seront assurées grâce à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’un plan systématique de préservation des données.

Travaux futurs

Les partenaires qui participent au développement de DataStream se sont engagés à contribuer à l’élaboration d’un outil à long terme qui favorisera la collaboration entre les divers efforts de surveillance et favorisera une démarche de gérance des eaux en réseau à l’échelle régionale.

DataStream a été lancé pour le bassin du fleuve Mackenzie en 2016 au terme d'une année pilote. Au fur et à mesure que DataStream s’étend à de nouvelles régions, tous les partenaires s’engagent à améliorer continuellement DataStream pour répondre aux besoins grandissants de sa collectivité.

Renvois